Gardner Composition Competition

Maurice Gardner Competition for Composers

Submission Deadline: December 1, 2019

In honor of prolific composer, Maurice Gardner (1909–2002), the mission of the Gardner Competition is to identify and promote important new works for the viola and to honor Mr. Gardner’s legacy.

First Prize – $1,000 and a performance at the American Viola Society Festival, June 3-6, 2020, in Knoxville, Tennessee, at the University of Tennessee. First Prize also includes a $500 travel and lodging stipend to attend the performance in Knoxville.

Second Prize – $500

Competition Rules:

Submission Guidelines: All application materials should be submitted online at 

Guidelines for Anonymous Submission: 

The winning composer will be notified via email by March 1, 2020

All questions and inquiries should be directed to: 

Martha Carapetyan, Competition Chair,